Week 02: Computer Hardware

The laboratory class this week was indeed a bunch of FUN!

system-unit

motherboard-inputs1

Parts of the Computer Hardware from: https://www.google.com.ph/searchq=parts+of+a+computer+ hardware&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ& amp;sa=X&ei=MugBVMXsOKG1iwLYsYCYBA&ved= 0CCMQsAQ&biw=1366&bih=768#q=computer%20parts&revid=1967824676&tbm=isch&imgdii=_

For the topic this week, we had a discussion about computer hardware on where we were divided into 3 groups. These groups had a discussion with our professor about the computer hardware or more specifically the system unit and its innards. (Hmm, actually at first or should I say at my younger years studying, I really thought that CPU is a term used to call the whole “box thing” in computer parts. )

This week, I also learned about the other parts inside the system unit and how does each part functions. Each part inside the system unit plays an important role in computer’s functioning such as the CPU, chipsets, heat sink and the likes. Moreover, we also tackled about the components related in the computer hardware, such as the difference between disk and disc, drive and driver and so on.

What actually made this week’s class a bunch of fun is the interactive game. It’s like trusting the whole in your partner that he/she has absorbed anything in the discussion of computer hardware. It’s like a sort of Pinoy henyo with a twist. We were also given an exercise to apply what we have learned, we attached two of the specified parts by Ms. Ivy.

Wohooooo! I’m looking forward for more interactive activities which can boost our critical and visual thinking. Hahahaha! Go IT 1.

Special Question: Judge your ideal laptop based on its specs

TOSHIBA SATELLITE 4K P55t – one of the world’s boosting specs!

 

If you have a dream Computer (Desktop/Laptop), what is that (brand and specs, if possible, upload an image of it) and where will you use it (e.g. gaming, photoshop)?

Specs

Due to my HP laptop’s bit slow performance as it has only 2 gigabytes RAM, I’d been searching all over the internet to look for one of the best laptop brand that can satisfy my multimedia cravings such as of video production, lay outing, various types of visual publication and many more. And at my curiosity, I have found about the “Toshiba Satellite 4K P55t” which was considered as one of the most laptops that have great specifications and performances much of Mac OS. At my amusement, I also found out that this Toshiba model has 15.6-inch clamshell with a popping 3840 x 2160 IGZO screen. That’s a whopping 221 pixels-per-inch!

According to technology analysts, this unit model is best for photo/video editing and design works. In comparison with the MacBook Pro 15-inch which was made by a Japanese vendor,
it’s retina display as one designed for folks in industries or education tracks that rely heavily on these tasks and skills. As what I have sited in various websites that have reviews in the Toshiba Satellite 4K P55t, its backing up that pixel-packed panel is a quad-core Intel Core i7 processor, an AMD R9 M265X graphics chip with 2GB of GDDR5 memory, 16GB of RAM and 802.11ac Wi-Fi. To store all of those 4K-sized videos and photos, Toshiba threw in a 1TB hard drive. Plus, 4 USB 3.0 ports which can be very efficient for file transfer.

According to reviews, this model has made a thought of: “‘It is a creation. Not a consumption”

Laptop

Laptop Model Toshiba Satellite 4K P55t from: http://thebestlaptops.net/toshiba-satellite-p55t-b5262-4k-laptop/

 

Actually, reading articles and reviews about this laptop model excites me a lot. Its features/specs seem to be very inviting. But for now, I will just enjoy my new laptop and will further improve it. Haha! However, I’m hoping that someday I would have this kind of laptop which can help me to enhance my skills in multimedia. Yes!